you're reading...
QF

Summer reading

I thought it might be fun to do a book club with my daughter this summer.  She will be heading into third grade, and she loves to read.  I love to read kids’ books, so this seems like a perfect idea for us.  Maybe we could find an activity to do with each book.

A Wrinkle in Time: I have never read this book! The description from Amazon: “A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O’Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg’s father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.” I do worry that she’s too young for the book, though.

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh: Yet another Newbery Award winner that I haven’t read.  My daughter and I started reading it together one day when she was sick, but I couldn’t get her to read it on her own.  I think that if we read it together this summer, we’ll both enjoy it.  I thought it was an enchanting story for the two chapters that we read.  This was one of my brother’s favorite books when he was a kid.  That has to count for something!

The Thief Lord: I’ve read Inkheart, but I didn’t love it.  I’m not going to hold it against Funke, though; I’m willing to her books another try.  This one has been recommended for my daughter’s age group, and it sounds like something she’d like: intrigue in Venice, a magical merry-go-round, the mysterious Thief Lord. The characters have names like Prosper and Scipio.  Even from those small details, the imagination can already begin to spin a story.

A few more I’m considering…
The Cricket in Times Square
The Phantom Tollbooth
100 Cupboards: Book 1
Because of Winn-Dixie
Fantastic Mr. Fox

The more I think about this, the more excited I get about the idea.  I always read her books before she reads them, but we never read them together.  This will be a fun way for us to share a hobby that means so much to both of us.  Maybe we could even go out for a fancy lunch while we have our book talk.  I need to write all this down while the excitement is still bubbling…

Discussion

One thought on “Summer reading

  1. How old is she? I have some great recommendations for 4th & 5th graders.

    Posted by Heather | April 9, 2010, 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Ashley on Twitter

Life through a lens

